

C.E.O.S.I.

CODE ENFORCEMENT OFFICIALS OF SOUTHERN ILLINOIS

Meeting Minutes

May 8th, 2024

O'Fallon Public Safety Building

- 1. Call to order-President Truran called to order at 12:11 pm.
- 2. Officers roll call
 - a. President Truran-Present
 - b. Vice President Gatewood-Present
 - c. Treasurer Van Horn-Present
 - d. Secretary-Vacant
 - e. Trustees (Theismann-Present, open, open)
- 3. Pledge of allegiance
- 4. Members introduction (State your name, community, and position)
- 5. Recognition of guests and new members-Kendrick Soer, Collinsville;
- 6. Prior meeting minutes (motion to approve)-Prior minutes approved, motion Rick Orban, 2nd Jeff Blair, all in favor.
- 7. Treasurers report (motion to approve)-Report approved, motion David Chamness, 2nd Alan Dyke, all in favor.
- 8. Education committee
 - a. Truran stated that the rest of the meetings TBD. Some of our meetings, not trainings, will be online.
- 9. Membership committee
 - a. Gatewood-Have received only 8-10 renewals for 2024.
 - b. Check the list for scholarships and those municipalities who are eligible. Some have been turned in that are not eligible.
 - c. Van Horn stated next meeting, \$50 for non-members will be enforced. If you have not paid for your renewals, you will be charged the non-member fee.
- 10. Building codes committee-No report.
- 11. Community engagement committee-No report.
- 12. Scholarship committee
 - a. Truran stated the board will be reviewing the scholarships received.



- b. Gatewood stated that we received around 20 applications. Only 17 are eligible for review.
- c. Scott Meinhardt, David Miller and David Chamness are to review the scholarships.

13. Nominations committee—

- a. President-Josh Ruot
- b. Vice President-David Chamness
- c. Treasurer-Brian Van Horn
- d. Secretary-Open

14. ICC update-

- a. Tim Schmitz introduced. Pins given to Truran and Ruot, past president and current president. Gave a quick update on Illinois bills. January 1st, 2025, new law on building codes goes into effect. Must have one of the last three versions adopted if you adopt codes.
- 15. ICCA update- No report
- 16. New Business
 - a. Membership vote on 2024-2026 CEOSI Board nominations.
 - i. Truran stated that the following were up for nominations for the board. Noted that Secretary is open again due to Joe Iliff moving out of Illinois. Opened the floor for more nominations, none nominated, floor closed. Vote taken on the following:
 - ii. President-Josh Ruot
 - iii. Vice President-David Chamness
 - iv. Treasurer-Brian Van Horn
 - v. Secretary-Open
 - vi. Motion to approve Kevin Gatewood, 2nd David Miller, all in favor.

17. Old Business-

- a. Chairmen appointed to finish out terms of the respective committees:
 - i. President Truran stated that the following have been appointed to the committees:
 - 1. Samuel James (Fairview Heights)-Building codes committee (2025)



- 2. Kevin Gatewood (Mt. Vernon)-Membership committee (2026)
- 3. David Miller (Shiloh)-Community outreach (2026)
- 18. Community chat-No community chat.
- 19. Motion to adjourn-Motion Brian Van Horn, second Kevin Gatewood, all in favor.